Drought Update: State Mandates New Water Conservation Framework Using Reliability Stress Test “Making Water Conservation a Way of Life”
In May 2016, the State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) voted to sunset the water conservation standard formula, which required water districts to reduce water use by a certain state-mandated percentage. To replace the mandated percentage reductions, the State Water Board introduced a new requirement for local suppliers to apply a prescribed Reliability Stress Test and set water saving targets based on anticipated water shortfalls over the next three years, which was due on June 22, 2016.
Significant drought conditions continue in parts of the state including Southern California. Azusa Light & Water (ALW) completed the Reliability Stress Test and submitted the required documents to the State Water Resources Control Board in June 2016 The ALW Reliability Stress Test was approved by the ALW Utility Board at the June 27, 2016 meeting.
Results of the Reliability Stress Test are used by each agency to create a new local water conservation standard. Under the new regulations, California’s wholesale water agencies were also required to calculate water supplies that they anticipate will be delivered to member agencies, such as San Gabriel Valley Municipal Water District (SGVMWD), Three Valleys Municipal Water District (TVMWD) and Upper San Gabriel Valley Municipal Water District (USGVMWD).
ALW has submitted the following documents to the State Water Board:
Water conservation is an important method of preserving our water supply and is a critical part of an effective water supply program. To proactively pursue long-term water use efficiency, we need to target an overall 20% reduction from year 2013 to support continued long-term sustainable groundwater production.
Drought Enforcement will still be in effect ensuring ALW will meet the goal of Senate Bill X7-7, which calls for 20% reduction by 2020. Water Conservation Officers will be checking for violations of water conservation measures (including allowed watering days) and issuing citations and fines. Fines for residential water users range from $50-$200; and for commercial and public agency water users from $100-$600.
THANK YOU for all your past and continuing efforts to conserve water during this historic drought.
For a detailed description of Mandatory Water Conservation measures, citations, fines, and appeal process, visit the Azusa Light & Water website at www.azusalw.com, or call our Drought Hot Line at (626) 812-5119.